Where There Was Nothing

by Bovaflux

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Download includes 3 previously unreleased digital-only bonus tracks recorded in the same period as the album.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £5 GBP  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Gatefold digipak case with graphic design from Mathieu Ranson (aka Fisk Industries)

    Includes unlimited streaming of Where There Was Nothing via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 10 days

      £7 GBP or more 


Blind 04:13
Ohne Namen 04:45
Bridge 04:45
Sleepytime 04:44
Kleine 03:06
Torchlight 02:22
Downtime 02:23


Software programmer Eddie Symons works all day coding elaborate and complex realities for video games, lost in his own headphone world, to a soundtrack of indie-rock and broken electronica. Going home in the evening, he creates a different kind of submersive environment, an equally enthralling and engaging framework.

As Bovaflux his music is a beautiful hybrid sound, clearly influenced by intricate melody and structure, as much as it is based on complex beat programming, yet still retaining a simple elegance on the surface, easily allowing you to become deeply entrenched in the music, discovering more and more detail upon each further listen. Aquatic and fluid dub bass lines underpin lurching slow hip-hop inspired beats, rising surges of digital atmospherics and subtle flowing melodies.

"Put quite simply [this] is rather splendid melodic electronica. Crunchiness and loads of twinkles are all over the joint complete with some nice deep dubby bass lines. For fans of Seefeel, Plaid and the early Artificial Intelligence series on Warp etc. Fecking lovely...."
Norman Records

“Bovaflux has come a long way in three years. This is a special album, consistently beautiful from beginning to end.”

“You could regard this album as somnambulant electronica to keep you going until that new Boards Of Canada LP drops, but Bovaflux (aka Eddie Symons) has a wide-eyed charm all his own. Stately and Apollonian, this is music for innocent dreamers.”


released August 12, 2005

All tracks written and produced by Eddie Symons

Mastered by Twerk @ Audible Odditites
Art & Design by Mathieu Ranson

Originally Released on Highpoint Lowlife Records




Bovaflux Cambridge, UK

Bovaflux aka Nullptr. Releases on CPU, Fundamental, SolarOneMusic, Fanzine, mindcolormusic, etc.
Please check out my label [d]-tached records for more of my releases too.

contact / help

Contact Bovaflux

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

Bovaflux recommends:

If you like Bovaflux, you may also like: